The Words In My Hand: a novel of 17th century Amsterdam and a woman hidden from history by Guinevere Glasfurd (Hardcover)

£9.00

1 in stock

SKU: 5DA3PJRK2Q6TR Category:

Description

For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Words in My Hand is the re-imagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th-century Amsterdam, who works for Mr Sergeant the English bookseller. When a mysterious and reclusive lodger arrives – the Monsieur – Mr Sergeant insists everything must be just so. It transpires that the Monsieur is RenĂ© Descartes.
Helena’s life, like that of so many women in history in history, is scarcely recorded. In The Words in My Hand she is a young woman who yearns for knowledge, who wants to write so badly she makes ink from beetroot and writes in secret on her skin – only to be held back by her position in society as a servant, and as a woman.
Weaving together the story of Descartes’ quest for reason with Helena’s struggle for literacy, their worlds overlap as their feelings deepen; yet remain sharply divided. For all Descartes’ learning, Helena has much to teach him about emotion and love.
When reputation is everything and with so much to lose, some truths must remain hidden. Helena and Descartes face a terrible tragedy and ultimately have to decide if their love is possible at all.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Words In My Hand: a novel of 17th century Amsterdam and a woman hidden from history by Guinevere Glasfurd (Hardcover)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *